Why did I leave a job at my dream company Microsoft?

This is a question that I still get after leaving Microsoft over three years ago, and so I thought of articulating my answer in this article.

Aditya Bhattacharya
8 min readMay 17, 2022

--

A snapshot of the Microsoft logo from the Microsoft store (Source: Unsplash)

Like most technology enthusiasts, Microsoft was my dream company since I had developed a passion for technology. Being a 90’s kid from India, the first computer I have ever used had Windows 98. Since then, the iconic Windows boot-up music, Microsoft logo and even the desktop background literally gave me goosebumps every time I started the computer. It is because of this strong association with Microsoft Windows from my childhood that I developed an ambition to work for this great company. I have massive respect for Bill Gates and Microsoft for realizing their mission of putting a computer at every desk, which seemed unrealistic back in 1985, but now existence without computers appears to be impossible!

Fast forward a few years, when I was doing my engineering, Microsoft visited my University for an internship opportunity. More than 5000 students had applied and after five rigorous rounds of interviews, I was one of the fifteen candidates who got selected for an internship at Microsoft! And guess what, the day when I got selected after the final round of interviews, happens to be my birthday! Trust…

--

--